Saulsbrook Alana named horse of the year in P.E.I. harness racing

Published on April 7, 2014
The P.E.I. Standardbred Horse Owners Association held its annual awards banquet Saturday night in Cornwall. From left are association  president Dr. Colleen Dickie, guest speaker Vance Cameron and horseman Brian MacPhee.
Guardian photo

Saulsbrook Alana was named horse of the year Saturday during the P.E.I. Standardbred Horse Owners Association awards banquet in Cornwall.

Saulsbrook Alana, a Maritime record holder with earnings of $61,473, also won the two-year-old pacing filly award and the pacing horse of the year. Reg MacPherson owns the horse, which is trained by Kevin MacLean and driven by Marc Campbell.

It was one of a number of awards presented during the evening at the Howard Johnson Hotel Charlottetown in Cornwall.

The Kentucky of Canada award, recognizing outstanding service to the industry and only presented when merited, went to Wes Sheridan, the P.E.I. cabinet minister responsible for harness racing.

The active horsewoman and horseman of the year went to Isabel and Brian MacPhee.

The horseperson of the year went to Don Smith of Pownal, who has been involved in the sport for five decades.

Kenny McInnis was named Standardbred Canada owner of the year.

The fan favourite award went to Smackwater Jack, owned, trained and driven by William MacKay.

Other award winners were:

Dusty Lane Galaxy, two-year-old colt trotter

Bred by Ronnie Gass, owned by Peter Buchanan and the estate of George Boswall, trained and driven by Gary Chappell.

Glencove Yoshi, two-year-old filly trotter

Bred, owned and trained by Carl Bagnall, driven by Mike Stevenson.

Settlement Request, two-year-old pacing colt

Bred by Tammy Sonier and Neil Bambrick, owned by Alfred Barrieau and Michael Clinton, trained and driven by Gilles Barrieau.

Taleisin, three-year-old colt trotter

Bred by Elwood Lawton, owned by Buntainwood Farm, trained and driven by Marc Campbell.

Howmacs Pride, three-year-old filly trotter

Bred and co-owned by Howmac Farms, co-owned by Wade Pecconi, trained by Earl Watts.  

Forever Paradise, three-year-old pacing colt

Bred by Art Millar, owned by Reg MacPherson, trained by Kevin MacLean and driven by Marc Campbell.

Dianna Santanna, three-year-old pacing filly

Bred and owned by Doug MacPhee, trained by Tommy Weatherbie, and primarily driven by Brodie MacPhee.

Pinner, claiming horse of the year

Owned by Brian, Lillian, and Kevin Ladner, trained by Brian Ladner.

Kaitlyn Rose, claiming mare of the year

Owned and trained by Ralph Sweet, driven by Marc Campbell.  

Abundaspin, aged trotting horse and trotter of the year

Owned by Mikaela Lustic, trained and driven by Harold Sheppard.

Honeymoon Is Over, aged trotting mare

Co-owned by Blake Andrew, co-owned, trained and driven by Brian Andrew.

Big League, aged pacing horse

Owned and trained by Jonah Moase.

Dirt Track Momma, aged pacing mare

Owned and trained by Jonah Moase and primarily driven by Marc Campbell.  

Drew Neil and Bobbi Jo Gaudet, grooms of the year

Walter Cheverie, Mr. Trot Challenge with 173 points

Steven Sheppardm rookie driver

Marc Campbell, leading dash winner with 124 wins and leading percentage driver.

Kevin MacLean, leading percentage trainer with .434

June Coyle, most dedicated horseperson.

Taylor McGuigan and Red Racetrack and Casino at the Charlottetown Driving Park, appreciation awards.