Top News

Maroons win WPSHL ch’ship

ALBERTON – Four-point performances by Mike MacIsaac (3-1) and Andre Howard (2-2) powered the O’Leary Maroons to the West Prince Senior Hockey League championship.

hockey puck

The Maroons posted an 8-5 victory over the Alberton Regals at a packed Jacques Cartier Arena on Saturday night.
The Regals led the series 2-1, before the regular-season-champion Maroons stormed back to claim the best-of-seven final in six games.
Matt Stewart (1-2), Lukas Dyment (1-2) and Aaron Sweet (1-1) also scored for the Maroons, who held period leads of 2-1 and 4-3.
Also earning assists for the league champions were Mike Adams (2), Scott Bernard, Wade Sweet and Aaron Reilly.
The Regals got goals from Jesse MacIntyre (2), Logan Smallman (1-3), Ned O’Brien (1-3) and Morgan DesRoches. Other assists were credited to Cody Doucette (2), Tyson McNeil and Kenzie Horne.

Chase Dyment picked up the goaltending win, and Spencer Rennie was in goal for the Regals.
The Maroons were assessed six minors, one fighting major, one charging major, two game misconducts and two 10-minute misconducts. The Regals, who scored two power-play goals to the Maroons’ one, were called for three minors, one fighting major and one game misconduct.

Recent Stories