APM team back to defend title at The Onion golf tournament

Published on August 13, 2014

Tim Banks and his APM team are back to try and make it a three-peat at the sixth annual Brian McGuire Memorial Golf Tournament (The Onion) Saturday at the Links at Crowbush Cove.

A full field of 36 teams tee off at 8 a.m. in the shotgun, best-ball event in support of palliative and hospice care. More than $128,000 has been raised for the two P.E.I. charities during the first five years of the tournament.

Title sponsors once again are Atlantic Shellfish and P.E.I. Mussel King. Each company has a team entered.

“We are thrilled to support the tournament and the two charities which provide essential care and support for Islanders in their time of need,” said Esther Dockendorff, president of the two companies.

APM is touted as the team to beat once again featuring Banks, Devon Bruce, Jerry LeBlanc and Thane Hansen.

Longtime tournament supporter Scotiabank is expected to provide stiff competition with the addition of Fox Meadow club champion Rich Little while Al MacAdam’s squad has been knocking at the door the past two years and could pull off the win this time.

The tournament is named after Brian McGuire, a well-known Morell sportsman and businessman. The main room in the new provincial palliative care centre, under construction near the Queen Elizabeth Hospital in Charlottetown, is being named in his honour.

Dr. Mireille Lecours, the provincial palliative care co-ordinator, is the honourary tournament chair. She has entered a team featuring Lt.-Gov. Frank Lewis and Charlottetown Mayor Clifford Lee.

Once again, there is a far-flung field attending with golfers coming from South Korea, Florida, Alberta, Ontario, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and P.E.I., with a majority coming from the Morell-St. Peter’s Bay-Mount Stewart areas.

Two Boston teams are unable to attend this year because of scheduling conflicts from an annual union conference in the city the same weekend. Sean Tolland of Boston had captained the tourney’s first championship team.