Three Islanders named to under-17 hockey team

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Rocket forward Yetman also makes Team Atlantic


Two Island defencemen and a forward have made Team Atlantic for the world under-17 hockey tournament.

Blue-liners Tanner McCabe, of Charlottetown, and Michael White, of Sherwood, have made the team announced Thursday. Both are members of the Charlottetown Islanders of the New Brunswick Prince Edward Island Midget Hockey League.

Charlottetown forward Kameron Kielly, of the Quebec Major Junior Hockey league’s Gatineau Olympiques, will also suit up for Team Atlantic.

P.E.I. Rocket rookie forward Nathan Yetman, from Mount Pearl, N.L., made the team as well.

“We had a very competitive camp and a lot of evaluating this fall and the decisions were difficult, but we as a staff are excited to have the quality of players available to us heading to the World Under 17 Challenge in Quebec,” said coach Dave Ritcey.

The Truro, N.S. native’s last involvement with Team Atlantic was in Lethbridge, Alta. in 2005 when the team won bronze. It’s the last time the region has medalled.

The event will be held Dec. 29 to Jan. 4 in Victoriaville and Drummondville, Que.


The following is the roster for the team:


Antoine Landry – Caraquet, N.B. (Miramichi Major Midget, NBPEIMHL)

Mason McDonald – Halifax (Bathurst Titan, QMJHL).


Luc Deschenes – Fredericton (Fredericton Canadians, NBPEIMHL)

Cody Donaghey – St. John’s (Rouyn Noranda Huskies, QMJHL)

Duncan MacIntyre – Sydney, N.S. (Quebec Remparts, QMJHL)

Alex Mann – Lunenburg, N.S. (Milton Academy, US Prep)

Tanner McCabe – Charlottetown (Charlottetown Islanders, NBPEIMHL)

Brendan Nickerson – Cape Sable Island, N.S. (Yarmouth Mariners, MHL)

Nicholas Quillan – Dartmouth, N.S. (Gunnery Prep School, US Prep)

Michael White – Sherwood, P.E.I. (Charlottetown Islanders, NBPEIMHL)


Lucas Batt – Lewisporte, N.L. (Victoriaville Tigers, QMJHL)

Clark Bishop – St. John’s (Cape Breton Screaming Eagles, QMJHL)

Johnny Erbs – Saint John, N.B. (Woodstock Slammers, MHL)

Matthew Highmore – Dartmouth, N.S. (Saint John Sea Dogs, QMJHL)

Liam Hynes – Ferryland, N.L. (The Hill Academy Prep School, US Prep)

Kameron Kielly – Charlottetown (Gatineau Olympiqus, QMJHL)

Morgan Messenger – Centreville, N.S. (Yarmouth Mariners, MHL)

Zach Moody – Margaretsville, N.S. (Cape Breton Screaming Eagles, QMJHL)

Nathan Noel – St. John’s, N.L. (Shattuck St. Mary’s Prep, US Prep)

Josh Pugsley – Amherst, N.S. (Amherst Ramblers, MHL)

Kyle Tibbo – Conception Bay South, N.L. (The Hill Academy Prep School, US Prep)

Nathan Yetman – Mount Pearl, N.L. (PEI Rocket, QMJHL)

Organizations: Hill Academy, Milton Academy

Geographic location: Charlottetown, Cape Sable Island, Quebec Sherwood US Mount Pearl Victoriaville Fredericton Dartmouth Lethbridge Cape Breton Saint John Drummondville, Que Caraquet Halifax Sydney Lunenburg Centreville Margaretsville Amherst Conception Bay

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page



Recent comments

  • Lorraine Stewart
    November 23, 2012 - 13:44

    Nicholas Quillan from Dartmouth N.S. Good luck Nicholas i will watch all your games