Moore, State Treasurer win O’Brien Awards

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

State Treasurer won the older pacing horse honours as part of the O’Brien Awards Saturday in Ontario.

Summerside native Dr. Ian Moore and one of his stable stars, State Treasurer, each received O’Brien Awards Saturday in Mississauga, Ont.

Moore won the horsemanship award and State Treasurer the older pacing horse honours and was voted Canada’s horse of the year.

Moore trained 62 winners and had earnings exceeding $2.1 million in a career-best season.

State Treasurer is owned by Sally MacDonald of Souris and Paul MacDonald of Toronto.

State Treasurer, who was a finalist in the category in 2014, scored nine victories in 2015, the richest being his victory at the Canadian Pacing Derby. 

The six-year-old son of Real Desire also added more than $966,000 to his bank account.

Ontario’s Al Libfeld and Marvin Katz received the Armstrong breeder award. William Andrew and Meridian Farms were the runner-up.

Andrew had previously been announced as the recipient of the Cam Fella Award for his contributions and service to the Canadian standardbred industry. 

Charlottetown’s Frances Lund received an outstanding photograph media excellence award.

Andrew and Lund received the awards on Saturday.

It was the 27th edition of the O’Brien awards, named in honour of the late Joe O’Brien, an Alberton native and member of the Canadian Horse Racing Hall of Fame.

Organizations: Canadian Pacing Derby

Geographic location: Summerside, Mississauga, Canada Toronto Ontario Charlottetown Alberton

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page