Best Risque does it again

Lee Drake
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Four winners for MacPherson

CHARLOTTETOWN – Best Risque, under the command of Corey MacPherson, notched her sixth win in a row after taking the afternoon feature in 2:00.1 at Red Shores Racetrack and Casino at the Charlottetown Driving Park on Saturday.

Corey MacPherson.

MacPherson, who had four winners on the program, rushed the Brian Ladner-trainee from Post 8 to the lead, and cut fractions of 29.1, 1:00.1 and 1:30.2 to win by a length and an half over Outrageous Spirit (Gordon Hennessey). Ideal Space (Ken Murphy) completed the triactor.

The score was Best Risque’s 50th lifetime victory for owners Brian, Lillian and Kevin Ladner of Charlottetown.

MacPherson’s other winners came with Montana Ben from the Mike Ramsey stable, Im a Debutant for O’Brien award winner William Andrew and trainer Ron Gass, and Painted Desert from the Trevor Hicken stable in the back-up class in 1:57.3.

Bold Arrow and driver Dale Spence closed out the winter meet in Charlottetown with top honours in the finale for owner-trainer Greg MacInnis of Tyne Valley.

Wade Sorrie and Marc Campbell enjoyed driving doubles on the card.

Racing returns

Live racing returns to Charlottetown in April while Red Shores Summerside returns to action in May.

The P.E.I. harness racing community presented a cheque for $5,000 to the Classy Lane Barn Fire Fund. Customers bought tickets on a Gold Cup and Governor’s Plate prize package while donations also came in from the P.E.I. Harness Racing Industry Association, Red Shores, Prince Edward Island Horse Owners Association, Prince County Horsemen’s Club and the Atlantic Provinces Harness Racing Commission Stretch Drive Fund.

Twila Mahar was the winner of the Gold Cup signature event. Patricia Keough claimed the 2016 Governor’s Plate grand prize.

Organizations: Classy Lane Barn Fire Fund

Geographic location: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, May.The P.E.I. Atlantic Provinces

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page