Sobey, Tanton, MacDonald among the Triathlon P.E.I. award recipients

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Martin Sobey won the junior male athlete of the year award at the recent Triathlon P.E.I. annual general meeting and awards banquet. From left are Shawn MacLean, ADL (Amalgamated Dairies Limited) representative, Sobey and Triathlon P.E.I. president Billy MacDonald.

Martin Sobey was named the junior male athlete of the year at the recent Triathlon P.E.I. annual general meeting and awards night.

"Martin had a breakthrough year in 2015 with many excellent results across the country and throughout the Americas," said Kara Grant, Triathlon P.E.I. vice-president and coach.

"Finishing the Canadian Junior Elite Race Series in fourth place, Martin has been invited to train at the new high performance centre in Victoria beginning in January. He is not only a dedicated and talented athlete, but a pioneer for junior athletes in the province."

The 19-year-old Charlottetown ran his first half marathon when he was 12 and started training for triathlon in January 2013, leading into the Canada Games that summer in Sherbrooke, Que.

Triathlon P.E.I. presented a special builder award to Cheryl Tanton.

She officiated at the 2009 Canada Games, and many other events in subsequent years, including the TRITON school triathlon and the new Trilobster race in Summerside. The school triathlon was the first of its kind in Canada.

Tanton has also contributed as board member, volunteer and participant.

More than 50 triathletes from across the province gathered in Charlottetown for the evening to celebrate the hard work, dedication and accomplishments of the 2015 triathlon season.

ADL/Sport P.E.I. certificates of achievement were also presented. Thane Arsenault, who completed all of the races in the Triathlon P.E.I. race series, was awarded.

Triathlon P.E.I. will be offering an expanded race series and clinic series in 2016. Details will soon be available on its website.


Award winners

A look at the Triathlon P.E.I. ADL certificate of achievement award winners:


Male - Jeremy Neuffer.

Female - Siobhan Bergin and Bridgette Keedwell.


Male - Martin Sobey.

Female - Ailish Bergin.


Female - Kristy Newson.

Male - Steve Reeves.

Coach - Kara Grant.

Volunteer - Kurt Laird.

Official - Billy MacDonald.

Administrator - Billy MacDonald.

Ironman - Arnie Johnson.

Ironwoman - Jennifer Power-Hawrylak.

Warrior Award - Phil Watts.

Most improved athlete - Sandra MacKinnon Perrry.

Builder award - Cheryl Tanton.

Race series winners

A look at the winners for the triathlon P.E.I. race series


Male - Nick Meade.

Female - Ailish Bergin.

20 to 29 years old

Female  - Melissa Leard.

Male - Daniel MacCurran.

30 to 39 years old

Male - Gaetan Dallaire

40 to 49 years old

Female - Kristy Newson.

Male - Steve Reeves.

50 to 59 years old

Female - Christine Thibaudierness.

Male - Andrew Van Wiechen.

Organizations: Canada Games, Canadian Junior Elite Race Series, TRITON school

Geographic location: Charlottetown, Americas, Victoria Sherbrooke, Que Summerside Canada

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page