Top News

Finalists announced for Sport P.E.I. awards

Sport P.E.I.
Sport P.E.I. - Submitted

Ceremony to be held Feb. 7

CHARLOTTETOWN, P.E.I. – Prince Edward Island’s top amateur sporting accomplishments from 2017 will be showcased on Feb. 7.

Sport P.E.I. announced Wednesday the finalists for its 44th annual awards night. The awards will be presented at Holland College’s Florence Simmons Performance Hall.

“Recognizing our Island’s finest athletes, officials, coaches and volunteers is an important part of amateur sport,” said Sport P.E.I. president Ryan Innis. “They have all worked tirelessly on and off the field, and deserve every bit of distinction they are going to receive. As P.E.I.’s level of athletes continues to improve, we are not only showing the nation our strength, but now the world is getting a taste of what we are capable of.”

Leading the field of athletes will be the nominees for the 3 Points Aviation senior athletes of the year, including male finalists Mark Arendz (para nordic and biathlon), Billy Bridges (sledge hockey) and Brett Gallant (curling). On the female side, Veronica Keefe (wrestling), Shannon MacAulay (hockey) and Bailey Smith (athletics) will look to take top spot.
The finalists for the P.E.I. Mutual Insurance coach of the year are Peter Gallant (curling), Eddie MacDonald (rugby) and Joe Ryan (volleyball).

Stephen Anderson (UNB hockey), Ibrahima Sanoh (Holland Hurricanes soccer) and John Patrick (J.P.) Stevenson (Canisius College baseball) are the Synergy Fitness & Nutrition intercollegiate male athlete of the year finalists. Jenna Mae Ellsworth (UPEI basketball) Abbey MacLellan (UBC field hockey) and Hannah Taylor (Brock wrestling) are the finalists for Synergy Fitness & Nutrition intercollegiate female athlete of the year.
The DP Murphy Hotels and Resorts junior male athlete of the year finalists are André Boudreau (biathlon/cycling), Noah Dobson (hockey) and Ligrit Sadiku (wrestling).
Emma Jinks (squash), Alexa McQuaid (swimming) and Hannah Taylor (wrestling) are the finalists for the DP Murphy Hotels and Resorts junior female athlete of the year.
Winners have been determined in the following categories:

ADL administrator of the year – Brenda Millar (volleyball).

PEI Mutual Insurance official of the year – Farida Chishti (table tennis).

ADL masters athlete award – Cory Jay (cycling).

SCORE! team of the year – Holland Hurricanes men’s soccer.

Matt Rainnie and Jo-Anne Holden are back to emcee the event. Tickets are $25 and are available by calling Sport P.E.I. at 902-368-4110.

Recent Stories