Top News

Travelers Curling Championship begins Monday

The Crapaud Community Curling Club board and members will be watching as a team from its club heads to Kingston, Ont., next week for the Travelers championship.
Skipped by Julie Mutch, the Crapaud team won the P.E.I. Travelers Curling Championship women’s division in the spring to earn its berth in the 2017 national Travelers Curling Club Championship. The event will take play Nov. 20-25.
Other members of the winning Crapaud rink are third Lindsay Moore, who throws fourth stones, second Terri Wood, and lead Heather MacRae.
“We are very proud to have this skilled women’s team from our club represent P.E.I. in this national event, and we wish them great success,” said club president Susan Hubley.
The Travelers championship is an annual event for men’s and women’s curling teams who have won their respective local club championships. Winning teams from all 10 provinces and three territories compete.
A team from the Silver Fox Entertainment Complex in Summerside will represent Prince Edward Island on men’s side.
The team is comprised of skip Leo Stewart, third Barry Cameron, second Darrell Thibault and lead Corey Montgomery.

Recent Stories