Top News

P.E.I. poverty-reduction advisory council appointed


CHARLOTTETOWN, P.E.I. – The provincial government has appointed a 12-member Poverty Reduction Advisory Council with the goal to reduce poverty’s impact in P.E.I.

The council’s mandate is to look at short and long-term solutions to address poverty, as well as engaging the public, and various groups.

“We have a strong group of diverse individuals and I'm really looking forward to working with them,” said advisory council chair Roxanne Carter-Thompson. “The council will play a very important role in developing the provincial action plan focusing on housing, food, education, employment, community capacity building, and health.”

Related: 27 Islanders appointed to boards, agencies in January

Islanders will have a variety of ways to provide input over the coming months, including a community partners meeting in early March, a survey for public input, community focus groups and six public meetings, the dates and locations of which have yet to be determined.

Government expects its poverty-reduction action plan to be completed in fall of this year.

Advisory council members:

  • Roxanne Carter-Thompson
  • Marcia Carroll
  • Richard Deveau
  • Wil Gunning
  • Dr. Gulrose Jiwani
  • Pamela Large Moran
  • Marilyn LeFrank
  • Andrea MacDonald
  • Ray Murphy
  • Dave Poirier
  • Tayte Willows
  • Regina Younker
Did this story inform or enhance your perspective on this subject?
1 being least likely, and 10 being most likely

Recent Stories