Top News

Charlottetown council selects national board representatives

Charlottetown City Hall.
Charlottetown City Hall. - 123RF Stock Photo

Laurel Lea and Alanna Jankov will represent the City of Charlottetown on the Canadian Capital Cities Organization board of directors.

City council unanimously approved the move at a recent public meeting.

Lea is the city’s tourism officer while Jankov sits on council and chairs the strategic priorities and intergovernmental co-operation committee. The appointment term is three years.

Since 1995, the organization has served as a collaborative network for beneficial co-operation between capitals, helping Canada’s capital cities define and express their identities while serving as a platform for discussing common challenges and sharing best practices.

Topics discussed range from policing, the climate emergency/sustainability, built heritage, tourism and events, urban planning/affordable housing and infrastructure.

The federal government is involved around the board table through the Department of Canadian Heritage as well as the National Capital Commission.

Recent Stories