Top News

Holland College Foundation announces 2020 award recipients

Dawn Rix-Moore, Harvey Stewart and Vince McKenna are the recipients of the Holland College Foundation's 13th annual Distinguished Alumni Awards.
Dawn Rix-Moore, Harvey Stewart and Vince McKenna are the recipients of the Holland College Foundation's 13th annual Distinguished Alumni Awards. - Contributed

The Holland College Foundation has named Vince McKenna, Dawn Rix-Moore and Harvey Stewart as the recipients of its 13th annual Distinguished Alumni Awards. 

Kent Scales, foundation board chairman, said the 2020 recipients are being honoured for their accomplishments and commitment to their chosen professions.

“Vince, Dawn and Harvey are all wonderful examples to current students that their Holland College education, combined with hard work and perseverance, can bring them tremendous success.”  

The foundation hopes to hold a small private celebration at the Culinary Institute of Canada early next year, depending on the COVID-19 restrictions at that time.

Jo-Ann Campbell-Boutilier, Holland College’s executive director, foundation and alumni, said celebrating the achievements of graduates is a priority for Holland College.

“We are so proud of our 45,000 alumni and the impact they are making worldwide,” she said. “Vince McKenna, Dawn Rix-Moore and Harvey Stewart join a distinguished group of graduates whose collective leadership in their industries and their communities has been remarkable. We are excited to celebrate their accomplishments and we know they will inspire current and future students.”

Following are brief profiles of the recipients:

Vince McKenna

Vince McKenna - Contributed
Vince McKenna - Contributed


McKenna, programmer/analyst 1984, received a business degree and, following a short period with an accounting firm, enrolled in and completed the programmer/analyst program at Holland College. He is an IT entrepreneur and has taken a number of businesses from start-up to maturity. 

McKenna joined DeltaWare Systems as a partner in 1994. In 2002 and 2006, he and his two partners received the Premier’s IT Entrepreneurship Award. In 2014, under his direction, DeltaWare once again received the Premier’s IT Entrepreneurship Award, as well as a Workplace Excellence Award through the Greater Charlottetown Area Chamber of Commerce. In 2010, DeltaWare was acquired by Maximus Inc., a U.S.-based company. McKenna was appointed president of DeltaWare Maximus in 2013, a position he held until his retirement in 2017. Maximus continues to operate in Charlottetown with more than 100 highly skilled employees and continues to serve clients nationally and internationally.  

McKenna is also an active and committed community volunteer. 

Dawn Rix-Moore

Dawn Rix-Moore - Contributed
Dawn Rix-Moore - Contributed

Rix-Moore graduated as a member of the first cohort of the Holland College nursing assistant program in 1996. Since then, she has served in many roles throughout the Prince Edward Island health-care system. In 2008, she began work as a practice consultant for the P.E.I. regulatory body, and in 2016 became the executive director of what is now known as the College of Licensed Practical Nurses of Prince Edward Island. In her role, she provides support and leadership to all provincial LPNs, serves on many provincial and national committees and demonstrates a passion for the enhancement of healthy public policy. She has been instrumental in the province’s implementation of the Regulated Health Professions Act and has worked tirelessly to educate all stakeholders on the act. 

She was also involved in the Health P.E.I. Nursing Strategy Steering Committee, which created the Health P.E.I. Nursing Strategy 2017-2020, has been a guest speaker at Holland College graduation and is a strong advocate for Holland College programs. Rix-Moore also serves on the board of directors for the National Nursing Assessment Service and on the Council of the Canadian Council for Practical Nurse Regulators.

Harvey Stewart

Harvey Stewart - Contributed
Harvey Stewart - Contributed

Stewart graduated from the welding program in 1978. He took charge of A.D. Stewart following the sudden death of his older brother, Allan. In 1989, he bought the company and changed the name H.F. Stewart. He grew the business to be very successful in the potato and fishing industry and became a true asset to many small businesses in O’Leary. Today it is a successful business run by his two sons and employs many local residents. 

In 1999, Harvey and his team were approached to provide a solution for a customer who was having issues with trailers tipping over. Stewart realized that the solution was to design live bottom trailer. He recognized there was a market for live bottom trailers, and as a result, Trout River Industries was born. The company opened in April 2002. 

Trout River Industries has grown immensely during the past 17 years and now employs more than 100 people, many of whom are Holland College graduates. Trout River, a privately held company, manufactures live bottom trailers, truck boxes and Hycube trailers in Coleman, P.E.I. The company is now Canada's largest live bottom trailer manufacturer.

Stewart is known in his community to help others in need and has been active in a wide variety of organizations.

At a glance:

Past Holland College Distinguished Alumni award recipients include: 

  • Brian Burke,
  • Chris Murray,
  • Cheryl Roche,
  • Jan Cowper,
  • Irwin MacKinnon,
  • David Poirier,
  • Melody Dover,
  • John Sylvester,
  • Melanie Wildman,
  • Scott Annear,
  • Patti Larsen,
  • David Trainor,
  • Wayne Stewart,
  • Cory LeDrew,
  • Kevin Proude,
  • Sue LeFort,
  • Delaney Chisholm,
  • Norma Lee MacLeod,
  • John Ledwell,
  • Paul Livingston,
  • Robert Webster,
  • Barry Sheen,
  • Kathy Ward Doucette,
  • Steven Barber,
  • Tim Banks,
  • Louise Vessey,
  • David Garcelon,
  • Basil Stewart,
  • Jeff Poirier,
  • Eva O'Hanley,
  • Jamie Hill,
  • Sonya Corrigan,
  • Alan MacLeod,
  • Steven Collicutt,
  • John Avery,
  • Brent Blackmore,
  • Alanna Jankov, and
  • Kevin O'Brien   

A display celebrating all alumni who have been honoured is located on the college’s Prince of Wales Campus in Charlottetown. 

Find out how to nominate an alumnus of Holland College for a Distinguished Alumni Award by visiting Alumni & Friends at Nominations are accepted year-round.

Did this story inform or enhance your perspective on this subject?
1 being least likely, and 10 being most likely

Recent Stories