Western Capitals trim roster

Pre-season schedule continues vs. Amherst on Tuesday

Published on September 3, 2017

Summerside D. Alex MacDonald Ford Western Capitals defenceman Scott Bagby, 4, focuses on the puck during Saturday night’s exhibition game against the Pictou County Crushers at Eastlink Arena. The Crushers won the game between the two MHL (Maritime Junior Hockey League) teams 4-0.

©Desiree Anstey/Journal Pioneer

SUMMERSIDE – The Summerside D. Alex MacDonald Ford Western Capitals’ training camp roster is down to 26 players.

The MHL (Maritime Junior Hockey League) team announced on Sunday morning it had reduced its roster following Saturday night’s 4-0 loss to the Pictou County Crushers in pre-season play.
The Caps’ training camp roster now includes three goaltenders, seven defencemen and 16 forwards.
The Caps, who are 1-1-1 (won-lost-overtime losses) in pre-season play, continue their exhibition schedule against the Amherst Ramblers on Tuesday. Puck drop at Eastlink Arena is set for 7 p.m.
Two-goal periods
Before 575 fans at Eastlink Arena, the Crushers scored two goals in each the first and third periods.
Kevin Mason, with two goals and one assist, led the Crushers, who received single goals from Mark Kennedy and Jake Martin.
Matt Normore, who stopped all 20 shots he faced, and Greg Moon, who turned aside 18, shared the shutout. Caleb Coyle made 17 saves on 19 shots through the first half of the game for the Caps, and Cody Smith had 14 stops on 16 tests.
The game’s three stars were:
1. Greg Moon (Crushers). Kevin Mason (Crushers), 3. Matt Normore (Crushers).

Off-ice officials
The Capitals also announced on Sunday they are looking for off-ice officials, which include official scorer, clock attendant, goal judges, security and overall volunteers for the upcoming season and the MHL Showcase in Summerside on Oct. 9 and 10.
If interested, email, and include position interested in.

Updated Western Capitals’ training camp roster:
Rett Rook
Cody Smith
Noah Laybolt

Sebastien Cormier
Matt O’Leary
Scott Bagby
Jordan Spence
Brodie MacMillan
Clark Webster
Matt Templeman

TJ Shea
Kallum Muirhead
Bryce Tracey
Zach Thususka
Colby MacArthur
Josh MacDonald
Nick Currie
Barrington Duffy
Alex Hambly
Hunter McIntyre
Johnny Larter
Cameron Roberts
Morgan MacDonald
Austin Taylor
Thomas Harper
Andrew Murphy