MacIntyre returning to play for Canada at Spengler Cup

The Canadian Press
Published on December 23, 2015

Drew MacIntyre, right, gets some training in at Pownal during the off-season.

©Jason Malloy/The Guardian

Canada will have three returning players this year as it chases its first Spengler Cup championship since 2012.

Goaltender Drew MacIntyre and forwards Alexandre Giroux and Chris DiDomenico were named to Canada's roster Wednesday. They were part of Canada's 2014 squad that lost in the tournament semifinal to eventual champion Geneve-Servette.

The roster features several players with NHL experience, including forwards Manny Malhotra, Derek Roy, Cory Conacher, Dan Paille and Matthew Lombardi and defencemen Keith Aulie and Alexandre Picard.

Canada opens the tournament against Russian side Avtomobilist Yekaterinberg on Saturday.


Goaltenders - Jeff Glass (Dinamo Minsk, KHL), Drew MacIntyre (Charlotte, AHL).

Defencemen - Keith Aulie (Springfield, AHL), Trevor Carrick (Charlotte, AHL), Mark Cundari (San Jose, AHL), Marc-Andre Bergeron (ZSC Lions, Switzerland), Aaron Johnson (Stockton, AHL), Alexandre Picard (HC Fribourg-Gotteron, Switzerland), and Daniel Vukovic (Geneve-Servette HC, Switzerland).

Forwards - Kris Foucault (ZSC Lions, Switzerland), Derek Roy (SC Bern, Switzerland), Kevin Clark (SCL Tigers, Switzerland), Chris DiDomenico (SCL Tigers, Switzerland), Alexandre Giroux (HC Ambri-Piotta, Switzerland), Dan Paille (Rockford, AHL), Matthew Lombardi (Geneve-Servette HC, Switzerland), Cory Conacher (Bern, Switzerland), Manny Malhotra (Lake Erie, AHL), Cory Emmerton (HC Ambri-Piotta, Switzerland), Tom Pyatt (Geneve-Servette HC, Switzerland), Matt D'Agostini (Geneve-Servette HC, Switzerland), Matt Ellison (Dinamo Minsk, KHL), and James Sheppard (Kloten Flyers, Switzerland).