Stewart rink captures men’s Travelers

Summerside rink off to nationals in Nov.

Published on March 13, 2017

Western Community Curling Club president Fr. Art Pendergast, from left, congratulates the men’s championship team from the Silver Fox: Leo Stewart, Barry Cameron, Darrell Thibeau and Corey Montgomery. After losing their first two games of the seven-team round robin, the Summerside rink recorded six consecutive wins en route to the title.

©Eric McCarthy/TC Media

ALBERTON – The Leo Stewart rink from the Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Club in Summerside is the 2017 Travelers Curling Club champions.

Stewart and his team of Barry Cameron, Darrell Thibeau and Corey Montgomery defeated Mitch O’Shea and his Charlottetown Curling Complex rink of Rodney Hood, Cory Arseneau and Brent Campbell 7-3 in the championship final at the Western Community Curling Club on Monday afternoon.

Stewart made it to the finals with a 5-2 semifinal win over Crapaud’s Alan Inman, and he won his semifinal 8-6 in an extra end over Western’s Glen Betts.
The Stewart rink will represent P.E.I. in the national curling club championship in Kingston, Ont., in November.