UPDATE: Team Casey wins Tankard

Charles Reid creid@theguardian.pe.ca
Published on February 1, 2016

The Adam Casey rink has defended its P.E.I. Tankard men's provincial curling championship.

Casey used a four-point first end to roll to an 8-1 win over Jamie Newson in the C final Monday at the Charlottetown Curling Complex.

Newson had a chance to remove Casey's rocks, but his shot missed, allowing Casey to score the quartet.

Casey scored three more in the fourth and a single in the fifth, after which Newson conceded and the teams shook hands.

But if Newson hits the shot, it's a different game, said Casey, adding the early lead made it difficult for Newson to come back given way the game is now played.

"Newson missed a tough shot that left us (in good shape). We really made some good shots out there," said Casey. "If you look at the top men's teams ... you don't see a lot of comebacks. You get down by two or three and you have to play 100 per cent and get some misses (from the other team)."


Casey's rink, from the Silver Fox and Charlottetown clubs, includes third David Mathers, second Anson Carmody and lead Robbie Doherty. Monday’s win gave the foursome an unblemished record at the Tankard.

Casey downed Newson in the A and B finals by 11-3 and 7-6 scores. Heading into Monday’s game, Newson needed to defeat Casey three straight times to win the provincial title.

Newson said it wasn't his or his team's best showing and the first end made the difference. The squad scored a single in the second, but it wasn't enough to build momentum.

"If I leave my last rock a few feet shorter . . . it'd be a different game for sure. We'd still be out there. It's hard to come back. You've got to keep it close against a good team like that at this level," he said.

"It's a little discouraging, but that's the game. At this level you have to play your best."

Newson's squad, from the Charlottetown Curling Complex, included third John Likely, second Mark O'Rourke and lead Mark Butler.

Casey's rink moves on to the Tim Hortons Brier March 5 to 13 in Ottawa.

It's Casey's second time there as skip and third overall. He went to the 2012 championship as a second on Brad Gushue's Newfoundland and Labrador rink.

"We had a bad year, but I'm happy with the team. How we played this week is the way we can play," said Casey, a Seven Mile Bay native. "It's a skip's game and I'll have to play my best."

Carmody, who is from Summerside, makes his fourth straight trip to the Brier.



P.E.I. Tankard winners since 2010 (listed skip to lead):

2016 - Adam Casey, David Mathers, Anson Carmody and Robbie Doherty.

2015 - Adam Casey, Josh Barry, Anson Carmody and Robbie Doherty.

2014 - Eddie MacKenzie, Anson Carmody, Tyler MacKenzie and Sean Ledgerwood.

2013 - Eddie MacKenzie, Anson Carmody, Alex MacFadyen and Sean Ledgerwood.

2012 - Mike Gaudet, Tyler MacKenzie, Tyler Harris and Sean Clarey.

2011 - Eddie MacKenzie, Mike Gaudet, Mike Dillon and Alex MacFadyen.

2010 - Rod MacDonald, Kevin Champion, Andrew Robinson and Mark O’Rourke.