Island Storm releases protected players list

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Island Storm logo

The Island Storm released its six-man protected list Monday and it includes two players in the National Basketball League of Canada’s top 10 in scorers.

Small forward Antonio Ballard led the Storm in scoring (1,164 points, 21.56 points per game) and was second in total scoring and rebounding in the league while guard Nick Okorie was third in total scoring (1,161 points, 19.03 points per game) in 2013-14.

The protected list gives NBL teams exclusive negotiation rights to the players on the list and can sign their own protected players at any time in the off-season.

Also on the Storm’s protected list is point guard Adrian Moss, who finished second in the league in total assists (282), fourth in assists per game (6.00) and tied for 13th in three-point shooting percentage (.395), Jeremy Williams, who was fifth in three-point shooting percentage .417 and led the Storm with 48 blocked shots, and Steve Tchiengang who placed sixth overall in total rebounds (356) and eighth in offensive rebounding (2.61 rebounds per game).

Canadian forward Dwayne Smith, named to the East all-star team last season, is also on the list.

Off the bench, Smith was third on the Storm in blocked shots (20) and fourth in total rebounding (213).

Unsigned protected players become restricted free agents as of Sept. 21 and can be offered contracts by any NBL squad.

However, the players’ original teams hold matching rights to retain the restricted free agents until the end of the 2014-15 season.

The NBL’s combine is on Aug. 23 to 24 in Orangeville, Ont.

The league draft is on Monday, Aug. 25.



Organizations: National Basketball League of Canada

Geographic location: Orangeville

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page