Olivia Hall draw post 8 in CDP feature; Lorne Yeo Memorial goes at SRW

Staff ~ The Guardian
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Olivia Hall and driver Ron Matheson will try for their fourth win in a row when they take on heavyweights Lakota Hall, Abby Best and BJ Cruiser in today's feature at the Charlottetown Driving Park. The 14-dash card begins with a 1 p.m. post time.
Olivia Hall, co-owned by Matheson and Tom Clark of Charlottetown drew post 8 against a powerful field of contenders.
When the draw was completed earlier in the week, BJ Cruiser and Gary Chappell had the rail followed by Abby Best, Fleet Officer, Stars Xample, Yankee Sun, CL Eighty and Lakota Hall. It won't be easy for the five-year-old daughter of Blissfull Hall to win from that starting point (pp8) but it makes for a great matchup.
Aahm Cruisin and Ambyr MacPhee, who charted a 1:57.4 victory last week, move up to take on two-time winner Rebel Ryan from the Kevin MacLean stable in Race 7. Beauty Spur and Rymar Chief are also morning line favourites.

Meanwhile, Porthill Alf has listed as the morning line favourite in the feature Sunday afternoon at Summerside Raceway. Post time is 1 p.m. on the 14-dash program.
Marc Campbell gets the driving assignment from owner Marvyn Webster and trainer Duane MacEachern. Alf is making his 33rd start of the season and will go up against Real Bond from the Ultimate Stable, N.B., with Harold Sheppard driving and Who Smiling Now, a winner in his last two starts, for driver Jason Hughes and owner Wilfred Hughes of Vernon Bridge. The field also includes Best of Life, Louie Fernandez, Life Savior, Pan Cushion and Paphos
Trainer Cindy MacDonald of Montague is sending out Saulsbrook Balance in the trot division.
Her star pupil, co-owned by Tanya MacKinnon of Souris is going for his third straight victory and ninth of the season for driver Willie Murphy. If Hopedale Last Bill wins, that will put an end to his streak of six seconds in a row. Joey Pineau will do the driving for owner Ken MacInnis of Charlottetown.
The Lorne Yeo Memorial is set to go in Race 11 with eight entries vying for the major share of the purse.
Gauloise Duharas, who finished third by a length in 2:00 in his last start, leaves from post 2 for Brian MacPhee and trainer Elton Millar.
They will have to hold off challenges from Dekker Road, Seawind Cockney and newcomer Picture It. This horse arrives from Flamboro Downs for trainer Jay Noye.
For the list of entries go to www.harnessracingpei.com

Compiled by Lee Drake, director of marketing and media relations for Harness Racing P.E.I.

Organizations: Harness Racing P.E.I.

Geographic location: Charlottetown Driving Park, Charlottetown, Vernon Bridge Dekker Road

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page