Hurricanes refuse to lose

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

The Holland College Hurricanes won the Eastern Canadian Women's Hockey League title Sunday in Wolfville, N.S.

Alyssa Ferguson scores championship-winning goal on breakaway

The Holland College Hurricanes came from behind on two separate occasions Sunday against UNB to win the Eastern Canadian Women's Hockey League title.

The Hurricanes won their first league championship with a 3-2 victory in Wolfville, N.S.

"Twenty-three players played as one team this weekend," said head coach Ryan Maxwell. "They earned it."

Alyssa Ferguson scored a breakaway goal with 3:23 remaining in the second period to give the 'Canes the 3-2 lead after they trailed by scores of 1-0 and 2-1.

UNB's Katie Finn scored 19 seconds into the game before Hayley Foote tied the game at 5:39 when she found the back of the net off of her own rebound.

Leah LeBlanc scored on a rebound at 7:44 to put UNB up 2-1 but with 44 seconds remaining in the first Katie-Lynn Cummiskey tied the game at 2-2.

Kara Mason was the winning goaltender.

In Sunday's consolation game Acadia defeated Cape Breton University 3-1.

Earlier in the tournament the Hurricanes defeated Acadia 1-0 and CBU 5-0 before falling to UNB 3-2 during round-robin play.

The Hurricanes went 8-2-2 during the regular season to finish in first place heading into tournament. Holland College saw great improvement this season after struggling to 2-8-2 and 1-10-1 records during the 2013-14 and 2014-15 seasons.

Prior to Sunday's championship game four players from the Hurricanes received league all-star honours.

First team all-stars included Kara Mason, Alyssa Ferguson and Alison Squires while Valeria Boswall was named to the second all-star team.

Organizations: Holland College, Eastern Canadian Women, Hockey League Cape Breton University

Geographic location: Wolfville

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page