D'Agostini scores winner as Canada wins Spengler Cup

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Team Canada poses with the trophy after winning the final match against Switzerland's HC Lugano, at the 89th Spengler Cup hockey tournament in Davos, Switzerland, Thursday, Dec. 31, 2015.

Matt D'Agostini scored the winning goal midway through the third period as Canada defeated HC Lugano 4-3 at Vaillant Arena to win the Spengler Cup.

Tom Pyatt, Derek Roy and Keaton Ellerby also scored for Canada, which won all four of its games at the annual tournament.

Gregory Hofmann scored twice for the Swiss team and Alessandro Chiesa had the other goal.

Canadian netminder Jeff Glass made 31 saves while Elvis Merzlikins stopped 40 shots for HC Lugano.

It was Canada's 13th Spengler Cup title and first since 2012.

Geographic location: Canada

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page