Hasek, Modano, Forsberg, Blake, Burns headed to Hockey Hall of Fame

The Associated Press
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Dominik Hasek, Mike Modano, Peter Forsberg and Rob Blake are headed into the Hockey Hall of Fame.

Hasek won the Vezina Trophy as the NHL’s best goaltender six times and the Hart Trophy as MVP twice, all with the Buffalo Sabres. He won the Stanley Cup twice with the Detroit Red Wings, once as a starter and once as a backup.

Forsberg recorded 885 points in 708 career games, winning the Calder, Hart and Art Ross Trophies along the way. He was a key piece of two Cup champion Colorado Avalanche teams, in 1996 and 2001.

Modano remains the highest-scoring American-born player in NHL history after finishing his career with 1,374 points. He was the face of the Stars franchise from Minnesota to Dallas.

Blake won a Stanley Cup, Olympic gold medal and world championship during his career as a defenceman.

Burns, a three-time Jack Adams Award winner as coach of the year, will be posthumously inducted four years after his death. He coached the Canadiens, Maple Leafs, Bruins and Devils and won the 2003 Stanley Cup with New Jersey.

McCreary worked 1,700 regular-season and 282 playoff games in his career as a referee.

The six-man class of 2014 will be inducted Nov. 17.


Organizations: Hockey Hall of Fame

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page