Vipers eliminated from Don Johnson Memorial Cup in OT

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Kensington Moase Plumbing and Heating Vipers

Mayhew, McQuaid earn all-star awards

PORT HAWKESBURY, N.S. – The Kensington Moase Plumbing and Heating Vipers have been eliminated from the Don Johnson Cup Memorial Cup.

The Sackville Blazers overcame 2-0, 3-1, 4-2 and 5-4 deficits to defeat the Vipers 6-5 in overtime in Saturday's semifinal. Andrew Skinner scored the winning goal on a power play early in the first overtime in a rematch of last year’s championship game, which was won by the Vipers in Moncton, N.B.

At the Port Hawkesbury Civic Centre, Brett Arthur (2), Zachary Thomas (1-2), Shane Boudreau and Kyle MacDonald scored goals for the Blazers.

Zen Hamil (2-1), Spencer McAllister (1-1), Adam Wight and Jordan Mayhew scored for the Vipers.

Kensington led 3-1 after the opening period, and the teams went into the second intermission tied 4-4.

Winning goaltender was Jonathan Boutin, and Grant Grady was in goal for the Vipers.

The Blazers will take on the Casselman Vikings of Ontario in Sunday afternoon’s final of the Eastern Canadian junior B hockey championship tournament.


Jordan Mayhew and Dylan McQuaid were named tournament all-stars on Saturday.

In four round-robin games, Mayhew recorded nine points – five goals and four assists. One of those goals was an overtime winner against the host Port Hawkesbury Strait Pirates on Thursday night.

McQuaid, who gave up three goals in two games, posted a 1.50 goals-against average and a .912 save percentage.

Geographic location: PORT HAWKESBURY, OT, Moncton Ontario

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page