Sprong, Goulet named to rookie team, Gallant inducted into QMJHL hall

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

The Charlottetown Islanders dynamic duo made the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League’s all-rookie team.

Right-winger Daniel Sprong had 30 goals and 38 assists for 68 points in 67 regular-season games. Centre Alexandre Goulet had 26 goals and 22 assists for 48 points in 66 regular-season games. They finished one-two in team scoring.

The team was announced Wednesday as part of the Golden Puck Awards ceremony in Montreal.

Summerside native Gerard Gallant was also inducted into the Hall of Fame during the evening. He was joined by Jean-Luc Phaneuf, Normand Caisse and Patrice Brisebois.


The winners were:

Michel-Brière Trophy – most valuable player

Anthony Mantha, Val-d’Or Foreurs.

Jean Béliveau Trophy – top scorer

Anthony Mantha, Val-d’Or Foreurs, 120 points in 57 games.

Jacques-Plante Trophy – lowest goals-against-average

Zachary Fucale, Halifax Mooseheads, 2.26 goals-against-average.

Paul-Dumont Trophy – personality of the year

Zachary Fucale, Halifax Mooseheads.

RDS Cup – rookie of the year

Nikolaj Ehlers, Halifax Mooseheads, 104 points in 63 games.

Michael-Bossy Trophy – best professional prospect

Nikolaj Ehlers, Halifax Mooseheads

Emile-Bouchard Trophy – defenseman of the year

Guillaume Gélinas, Val-d’Or Foreurs, 23 goals and 69 assists for 92 points in 67 games. Gélinas also posted a +24.

Frank-J.-Selke – most sportsmanlike player

Frédérick Gaudreau, Drummondville Voltigeurs and Shawinigan Cataractes,

71 points and two penalty minutes.

Marcel-Robert Trophy – Telus Scholastic Player of the Year

Jérémy Grégoire, Baie-Comeau Drakkar.

Humanitarian and Community Involvement Trophy presented by National Public Relations

Charles-David Beaudoin, Drummondville Voltigeurs.

Ron-Lapointe Trophy – coach of the year

Éric Veilleux, Baie-Comeau Drakkar.

Maurice-Filion Trophy – general manager of the year

Steve Ahern, Baie-Comeau Drakkar.



First all-star team

G – Philippe Cadorette (Baie-Comeau Drakkar)

D – Guillaume Gélinas (Val-d’Or Foreurs)

D – Randy Gazzola (Val-d’Or Foreurs)

C – Jonathan Drouin (Halifax Mooseheads)

LW – Anthony Duclair (Quebec Remparts)

RW – Anthony Mantha (Val-d’Or Foreurs)

Second all-star team

G – Zachary Fucale (Halifax Mooseheads)

D – Justin Haché (Cape-Breton Screaming Eagles)

D – Mackenzie Weegar (Halifax Mooseheads)

C – Cameron Darcy (Cape-Breton Screaming Eagles)

LW – Nikolaj Ehlers (Halifax Mooseheads)

RW – Marcus Power (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies)

Rookie all-star team

G – Callum Booth (Quebec Remparts)

D – Jérémy Roy (Sherbrooke Phoenix)

D – Nicolas Meloche (Baie-Comeau Drakkar)

C – Alexandre Goulet (Charlottetown Islanders)

LW – Nikolaj Ehlers (Halifax Mooseheads)

RW – Daniel Sprong (Charlottetown Islanders)




Organizations: Quebec Major Junior Hockey League, Telus

Geographic location: Montreal.Summerside, Charlottetown, Rouyn-Noranda

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page