Sprong, Andrews, Oligny up for QMJHL awards

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Charlottetown Islanders rookie Daniel Sprong is up for three year-end awards in the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League.

The right-winger has been nominated for the RDS rookie of the year, Frank J. Selke as sportsman of the year and the Michel Bergeron Trophy as the offensive rookie of the year.

Hunter River's Brent Andrews was nominated for the Guy-Carbonneau Trophy best defensive forward while former P.E.I. Rocket Jimmy Oligny, now with the Rimouski Oceanic, is up for the Kevin Lowe Trophy as the best defensive defenceman.

The awards will be presented April 2 in Montreal.



The Charlottetown Islanders are looking for support from the Island as it begins its first-round playoff series with the Halifax Mooseheads.

The team is asking Islanders to show their support by painting the province black and gold for its playoff run. Some examples include building a display, decorating your home or business, creating a video or anything to show support.

The team wants residents to share their images and or videos with it through Facebook (www.facebook.com/CharlottetownIslandersHockeyClub) or Twitter (https://twitter.com/IslandersHKY) or by emailing admin@charlottetownislanders.com.

The prizes for best entries include, six-game playoff pack (non-refundable) for third place, an autographed team stick for second and a 2014-15 season ticket for first place.

The team’s motto for the playoffs is #whynotus.

The Islanders start the playoffs on the road Friday and Saturday before returning to the Eastlink Centre for games Tuesday and Wednesday.



Julien Avon was the Islanders’ academic player of the month for February.

The forward was acquired from the Rouyn-Noranda Huskies in the Jack Nevins deal in January. The 19-year-old left-winger had a goal and three assists in 26 games since the trade.

Players are selected for their school results, the school-hockey conciliation, team spirit and on-ice performances.


QMJHL Awards

The Quebec Major Junior Hockey League unveiled Monday the list of finalists for the 2013-14 Golden Puck Awards. The various trophies will be awarded at the annual event, which will be held at the Hyatt-Regency Hotel in Montreal on April 2.

Michel-Brière Trophy - Most Valuable Player

Jonathan Drouin, Halifax Mooseheads; Anthony Duclair, Québec Remparts; and Anthony Mantha, Val-d’Or Foreurs.

RDS Cup - Rookie of the Year

Callum Booth, Québec Remparts; Nikolaj Ehlers, Halifax Mooseheads; Nicolas Meloche, Baie-Comeau Drakkar; Julien Pelletier, Cape Breton Screaming Eagles; Jérémy Roy, Sherbrooke Phoenix; and Daniel Sprong, Charlottetown Islanders.

Émile (Butch) Bouchard Trophy - Best Defenseman

Randy Gazzola, Val-d’Or, Foreurs; Guillaume Gélinas, Val-d’Or, Foreurs; and Mackenzie Weegar, Halifax Mooseheads.

Frank-J.-Selke Trophy - Sportsman of the Year

Frédérick Gaudreau, Drummondville Voltigeurs; Daniel Sprong, Charlottetown Islanders; and Adam Stevens, Gatineau Olympiques.

Michael-Bossy Trophy - Top Professional Prospect

Ivan Barbashev, Moncton Wildcats; Nikolaj Ehlers, Halifax Mooseheads; and Alexis Vanier, Baie-Comeau Drakkar.

Marcel-Robert Trophy - TELUS Scholastic Player of the Year

Dominic Talbot-Tassi, Blainville-Boisbriand Armada; Jérémy Grégoire, Baie-Comeau Drakkar; and Louis-Philip Guindon,Drummondville Voltigeurs.

Ron-Lapointe Trophy - Coach of the Year

Serge Beausoleil, Rimouski Océanic; Jean-François Houle, Blainville-Boisbriand Armada; and Eric Veilleux, Baie-Comeau Drakkar.

Maurice-Filion Trophy - General Manager of the Year

Steve Ahern, Baie-Comeau Drakkar; Marc-André Dumont, Cape Breton Screaming Eagles; Dominic Ricard, Drummondville Voltigeurs.

Paul-Dumont Trophy - Personality of the Year

Zachary Fucale, Halifax, Mooseheads; Benoit Groulx, Gatineau Olympiques; and Anthony Mantha, Val-d’Or Foreurs.

Humanitarian and Community Involvement Trophy presented by the Public Relations firm NATIONAL

Charles-David Beaudoin, Drummondville Voltigeurs; Brendan Duke, Halifax Mooseheads; and Samuel Henley, Val-d'Or Foreurs.

Raymond-Lagacé Trophy - Defensive Rookie of the Year

Callum Booth, Québec, Remparts; Nicolas Meloche, Baie-Comeau, Drakkar; and Jérémy Roy, Sherbrooke Phoenix.


The following trophies will be awarded at special pre-game ceremonies held at the beginning of the playoffs:

Michel-Bergeron Trophy - Offensive Rookie of the Year

Nikolaj Ehlers, Halifax Mooseheads; Julien Pelletier, Cape Breton Screaming Eagles; and Daniel Sprong, Charlottetown Islanders.

Guy-Carbonneau Trophy - Best defensive forward

Brent Andrews, Halifax Mooseheads; Taylor Burke, Gatineau Olympiques; and Félix Girard, Baie-Comeau Drakkar.

Kevin-Lowe Trophy - Best defensive defenceman

Justin Haché, Cape Breton Screaming Eagles; Jimmy Oligny, Rimouski Océanic; Gabriel Verpaelst, Baie-Comeau Drakkar.

Organizations: Eastlink Centre, Rouyn-Noranda Huskies

Geographic location: Charlottetown, Quebec, Hunter River

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page