Brown, Visser, Martin receive AUS women's hockey honours

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

UPEI Panthers captain Ferran Brown has been recognized for her academics, athletics and community involvement.

The fourth-year forward is the first Panther to win the Atlantic University Sport (AUS) women’s hockey conference’s student-athlete community service award since the award’s inception in 2002-03.

Brown, the team’s first captain not from P.E.I., had three goals and eight assists in 24 games this season for the Panthers.

Brown’s community involvement on the Island included hosting two food drives in December. The drives raised more than $500 and $300 in cash donations and collected about 300 pounds of food for two Island food banks.

She organized and hosted pink at the rink events where the men’s and women’s hockey teams wore pink and black jerseys. The hockey programs raised $1,144.45 to be donated to the local chapter of the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation.

Brown will now represent the conference for the Canadian Interuniversity Sport’s (CIS) Marion Hilliard Award.

Panthers’ defenceman Keirstin Visser was also named a second-team all-star. The fourth-year blue-liner from Crapaud had a goal and five assists in 24 games this year.

The second team also included Emily van Diepen, a third-year defenceman from Morell, who had four goals and six assists for the Mount Allison Mounties.

UPEI’s Emma Martin, a Winsloe resident, was named to the all-rookie team. The smooth-skating defenceman had three goals and three assists in 24 games.

She was joined by fellow Islander Nicole Corcoran, a blue-liner from Piusville, who plays for St. F.X. Corcoran was tied for third in defenceman scoring in the conference with three goals and seven assists in 24 games.

Other awards went to:

MVP – Alex Normore, St. F.X.

Rookie of the year – Breanne Lanceleve, Saint Mary’s

Coach of the year – Denis Ross, Moncton

Most sportsmanlike – Courtney King, Mount Allison


First team all-stars

Goaltender – Kristin Wolfe, St. Thomas (5th year – Chignecto, N.S.)

Defence – Jenna Pitts, St. F.X. (4th year – Antigonish, N.S.)
and Rebecca Mosher, Saint Mary’s (5th year – Poplar Grove, N.S.).

Forwards – Alex Normore, StFX (4th year – Bedford, N.S.); Breanne Lanceleve, Saint Mary’s (1st year – Middle Sackville, N.S.); Marie-Pier Arsenault, Moncton (3rd year – Bonaventure, Que.).

Second team all-stars

Goaltender – Gabrielle Forget, Moncton (1st year – Joliette, Que.)

Defence – Keirstin Visser, UPEI (4th year – Crapaud, P.E.I.); Emily van Diepen, Mount Allison (3rd year – Morell, P.E.I.).

Forwards – Katie Brewster, St. Thomas (5th year – Sackville, N.B.); Courtney King, Mount Allison (4th year – St. John’s, N.L.); Daley Oddy, StFX (1st year – Cranbrooke, B.C.)

All-rookie team

Goaltender – Gabrielle Forget, Moncton (Joliette, Que.)

Defence – Emma Martin, UPEI (Winsloe, P.E.I.); Nicole Corcoran, StFX (Piusville, P.E.I.)

Forward –Breanne Lanceleve, Saint Mary’s (Middle Sackville, N.S.); Daley Oddy, StFX (Cranbrooke, B.C.); Lisa MacLean, Dalhousie (Inverness, N.S.).

Organizations: Atlantic University Sport, Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation

Geographic location: Iceland, Saint Mary, Moncton Winsloe Sackville St. Thomas Joliette Chignecto Antigonish Poplar Grove Bedford Bonaventure Inverness

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page