Watts, Horne take Travelers curling titles

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

The Dennis Watts rink from the Charlottetown Curling Complex and the Sharon Horne team from the Western Community Curling Club in Alberton were the men's and women's division winners at the P.E.I. Travelers curling club championship recently at the Cornwall Curling Club.

Watts had to beat the undefeated Barry Cameron foursome from the Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Club in Summerside twice to take the crown, while Horne went undefeated after doubling the Tammy Cudmore rink from Charlottetown 4-2 in the final.

Both winning rinks advance to the national Travelers club championship Nov. 20 to 26 in Kelowna, B.C., which features 14 men's and 14 women's teams from Curling Canada's member associations in 10 provinces, three territories and Northern Ontario.

Other members of Watts' rink are third Erik Brodersen, second Andrew MacDougall and lead Doug MacGregor. Completing Horne's squad are third Bobbi-Jean MacMillan, second Alison Griffin and lead Iva Griffin.

Seven men's and six women's rinks, who won their respective club championships, took part in the championship.

Organizations: Western Community Curling Club, Cornwall Curling Club, Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Club

Geographic location: Alberton, Summerside, Kelowna Northern Ontario

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page