Back-to-back-to-back titles for Veronica Smith rink

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

The Veronica Smith rink, from left, are Veronica Smith, Chloe McCloskey, Sabrina Smith, Katie Fullerton and coach Bill Hope.

Cornwall Curling Club team wins provincial junior curling championship

The Veronica Smith rink has three-peated as Pepsi provincial junior women's curling champs.

The Cornwall Curling Club team completed an undefeated championship by defeating Jane DiCarlo 6-3 Tuesday to capture all three qualifying finals over DiCarlo of the host Charlottetown Curling Complex.

Smith led 3-0 through six Tuesday night before DiCarlo tied it with a deuce in the seventh and a single in the eighth. Smith took the lead with a single in the ninth and stole two in the 10th.

The Smith rink includes third Chloe McCloskey, second Sabrina Smith, lead Katie Fullerton and coach Bill Hope. They defeated DiCarlo 7-5 and 8-6 in the A and B qualifying finals, respectively, earlier this week.

They advance to the M&M Meat Shops Canadian juniors from Jan. 24 to Feb. 1 in Cornerbrook, N.L.


The Tyler Smith rink eliminated the Alex MacFadyen rink with an 8-4 victory in the men's C final.

Tied 3-3 through four ends, Smith scored singles in the fifth, sixth and seventh ends and added a deuce in the ninth after MacFadyen had one in the eighth.

The Smith team of third Brooks Roche, second Dylan Lowery and lead Ryan Lowery are from the Crapaud/Montague curling clubs while the MacFadyen rink is from the Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Club in Summerside.

The Smith rink has double life in today's championship final against the A final winners, the Matthew MacLean foursome from the Cornwall and Maple Leaf clubs. Games are at 9 a.m. and 2 p.m.

Organizations: Cornwall Curling Club, Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Club

Geographic location: Cornerbrook, Summerside, Maple Leaf

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page