Smith versus DiCarlo take three at P.E.I. junior curling championship

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

It will be a familiar matchup in the C qualifier final tonight at the Pepsi provincial junior women’s curling championship.

The Veronica Smith rink plays the Jane DiCarlo rink after defeating DiCarlo to win the A and B finals 7-5 and 8-6, respectively. A Smith win in tonight’s 7 p.m. final at the Charlottetown Curling Complex would give the team from the Cornwall Curling Club their third straight provincial junior title.

A DiCarlo victory would force a championship round on Wednesday in the modified triple knockout competition.

Smith had a berth in the C final by winning the B qualifier while DiCarlo eliminated the Jenny McLean rink in this afternoon’s semifinal 9-4 in nine ends.

DiCarlo was trailing 4-1 through six ends before scoring a deuce in the seventh and triples in the eighth and ninth ends. McLean’s rink is from the Cornwall Curling Club.

On the men’s side, Alex MacFadyen’s rink from the Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Club in Summerside defeated Matthew MacLean’s rink 9-4 in eight ends in the semifinal.

MacLean and his team comprised of players from the Cornwall and Maple Leaf curling clubs led 4-3 through five before MacFadyen scored deuces in the next three ends.

MacFadyen plays the Tyler Smith rink tonight at 7 p.m. in the C final. Smith’s team is made up of players from the Crapaud and Montague curling clubs.

MacLean won the A final 9-8 over Smith while Smith returned the favour 7-5 in the B final.

The men’s title will be determined on Wednesday.

If MacFadyen wins tonight, he would play MacLean in the morning game, with the winner facing Smith at 2 p.m. The rules specify the team who played in the most section qualifier games would have the bye to the second game, and Smith was in all three qualifiers.

Organizations: Cornwall Curling Club, Pepsi, Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Club

Geographic location: Summerside, Maple Leaf

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page