Island teams drop games at Canadian junior curling championships

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

The Veronica Smith rink finished the preliminary round of the M&M Meat Shops Canadian Junior Curling Championship at 2-4.

The Cornwall Curling Club team lost 6-5 to New Brunswick in extra ends and 10-5 in nine ends to Nova Scotia Monday in Liverpool, N.S.

New Brunswick scored deuces in the third and sixth end to take a 4-2 lead. P.E.I. answered with singles in the seventh and eighth before the teams traded singles the next two end to force the 11th.

Nova Scotia was leading 3-2 heading to the fifth when they scored a single followed by a triple and a single to take an 8-2 lead. Smith came back with a triple of her own in the eighth to cut the lead to three, but the team from the host province scored a deuce in nine and the teams shook hands afterwards.

The Island team includes third Chloe McCloskey, second Sabrina Smith, lead Katie Fullerton and coach Bill Hope.



The Kyle Holland rink dropped both its games on Monday to drop to 1-4. The Charlottetown Curling Complex team lost 9-4 in nine ends to British Columbia and 11-4 to Alberta in eight ends.

B.C. had a 3-0 lead before Holland tied it with a triple in the fourth. The teams traded singles the next three ends before B.C. stole three in eighth and added a single in the ninth.

Alberta scored three in the first before Holland scored singles in the second and third. Alberta took command of the contest with five in the fourth and a deuce in the fifth. The teams traded singles the remaining three ends.

The Island squad consists of third Tony Nabuurs, second Alex Sutherland, lead Taylor McInnis and coach Angela Hodgson.

The team plays its final game of the preliminary round today with the Yukon at 2 p.m.

Playoffs begin today at 6:30 p.m. with the championship continues to Sunday.

Organizations: Cornwall Curling Club

Geographic location: Nova Scotia, Alberta, New Brunswick Liverpool British Columbia Yukon

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page