Federation of P.E.I. Municipalities honours Charlottetown deputy mayor

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Charlottetown deputy mayor Stu MacFadyen, centre, accepts the Bruce H. Yeo Memorial Award from the Federation of P.E.I. Municipalities. From left: Heather MacFadyen, Cindy MacFadyen, Stu MacFadyen, David MacFadyen and Gordie MacFadyen.

Charlottetown Deputy Mayor Stu MacFadyen has received the Bruce H. Yeo Award.

The Yeo award was established in memory of the Federation of Prince Edward Island Municipalities’ first president, to recognize outstanding contributions to municipal government in P.E.I.

Charlottetown Mayor Clifford Lee says MacFadyen deserves the recognition.

“He has dedicated 14 years to the city corporation and, as deputy mayor, has gone above and beyond his job description in every way, attending events and activities even when he didn’t have to and putting his heart into everything he does,” said Lee.

“He has touched the lives of many people in our community and we’re very happy that has been recognized with this award.”

MacFadyen is a lifelong resident of Charlottetown and lives with his wife, Cindy, and their son, Jeremy, on Newland Crescent. Stu has three other children: Gordie, Heather and David, and is a grandfather to four.

First elected to Charlottetown City Council in November 2000, he was appointed deputy mayor in 2003 and is now serving his third consecutive term. He attended St. Dunstan’s University, the University of Prince Edward Island, and the University of New Brunswick.

A former teacher and city employee, MacFadyen has been very active in the community. He has served on many boards, has been involved with the coaching of various sports and, in his leisure time, enjoys watching hockey, other sporting activities and attending the many cultural events at the Confederation Centre of the Arts.

About the award:

- The FPEIM Bruce H. Yeo Memorial Award is presented annually to an individual in recognition of their outstanding contribution to municipal government in P.E.I.

- This award was established in 1997 on the occasion of FPEIM’s 40th anniversary.

- The award is named after Bruce H. Yeo, who was the first President of FPEIM.

- For more information, visit: www.fpeim.ca/

Organizations: Federation of Prince Edward Island Municipalities, Charlottetown City Council, University of Prince Edward Island University of New Brunswick Confederation Centre

Geographic location: Charlottetown, P.E.I., Dunstan

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page