Becka deHann takes home ECMA for gospel recording during Sunday brunch

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Becka deHann of New Brunswick took home the ECMA for gospel recording of the year for Long-awaited, Unexpected during a brunch Sunday morning in Charlottetown.

Earlier, popular hip/hop artist and producer Classified, The Trews, Erin Costelo and Les Hay Babies picked up awards at Eastlink East Coast Music Week in Charlottetown Saturday night.

The awards were presented at showcases scattered throughout the downtown core over the course of the night.

Classified won the ECMA for rap/hip-hop recording of the year for Classified.

Honours for R&B/soul recording of the year went to Halifax’s Erin Costelo for We Can Get Over.

Moncton-based indie folk trio Les Hay Babies won for Francophone recording of the year.

The Trews claimed the award for rock recording of the year for thank you & I’m sorry.

City Natives picked up the Aboriginal recording of the year for 4 Kingz.

Electronic recording of the year honours went to PINEO for C'est La Vie!

Mo Kenney won pop recording of the year for Mo Kenney.

Saturday was a very full day at ECMW, one that started early with the recognition of more than a dozen music industry professionals at the annual industry awards brunch. Full coverage of those awards appears elsewhere in The Guardian and online.

Performances by some of the best acts the East Coast has to offer continued on stages throughout the city.

Sources say many of the venues have been packed, some to the point of turning people away. But that’s something common to virtually every East Coast Music Week because there are often more fans wanting to hear the music than there are venues large enough to accommodate them all.

After many long months of planning, East Coast Music Week will come to a close Sunday, but not before some of the week’s most anticipated events. Topping that list is the East Coast Music Awards Gala which takes place at the Delta Prince Edward Ballroom, hosted by Seamus O'Regan.

Amelia Curran,   Ashley Condon, Dave Gunning, David Myles, Jimmy Rankin, Les Hôtesses d’Hilaire, Meaghan Blanchard, Mo Kenney, Old Man Luedecke, Paper Lions, Tonya Kennedy, The Motorleague and The Town Heroes are slated to perform.

Ten awards will be handed out over the course of the evening, including:

Fan’s Choice Entertainer of the year, Fan’s Choice Video of the year, Album of the year, Group recording of the year, Solo recording of the year, Song of the year, Musician’s achievement award, Directors’ special achievement award, Dr. Helen Creighton Lifetime Achievement Award, and Songwriter of the year.

The SOCAN Songwriter’s Circle, always a highlight of the week, goes at 12:30 p.m. with a lineup that includes Jimmy Rankin, Amelia Curran, Dennis Ellsworth, Jenn Grant, Meaghan Blanchard, Colin MacDonald of The Trews and Mo Kenney.

  Other events scheduled for today include the gospel brunch at Globe World Flavours at 11:30.

The award for gospel recording of the year will be awarded at that event.


Organizations: Eastlink East Coast Music Week

Geographic location: Charlottetown, Halifax, The Guardian

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page



Recent comments

  • Teena Brown
    April 12, 2014 - 09:02

    Congratulations Becka!! :D