P.E.I. nabs ECMA industry awards nominations

Staff ~ The Guardian
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Prince Edward Island nabbed five nominations Monday as the East Coast Music Association announced its 2008 Industry Award nominees in Fredericton.
The Industry Awards will be handed out on Sunday, Feb. 10, prior to the Music Awards Gala at the Aitken Centre in Fredericton.
Industry awards celebrate those who work behind the scenes to build and maintain the strong East Coast music industry. These awards honour managers, photographers, graphic designers, radio stations, and technicians, among the many other professions dedicated to the promotion of East Coast music.
"Although industry professionals aren't usually in the spotlight, they most definitely deserve to be recognized and appreciated for all of their hard work and their commitment to the music industry on the East Coast," said Wade Pinhorn, chair of the board of directors for the East Coast Music Association. "These amazing individuals and businesses persevere relentlessly to ensure East Coast music is on the map, loud and proud. We couldn't do it without them."
Award nominees are chosen by juries of industry professionals from all five regions of the East Coast Music Association: New Brunswick, Newfoundland & Labrador, Prince Edward Island, mainland Nova Scotia and Cape Breton Island. Voting ballots will be sent to all eligible members of the East Coast Music Association, who will vote on the award winners.

2008 ECMA Industry Award Nominees
Broadcast of the Year / Émission de l'annÉe:
? Cape Breton Christmas Daddies Telethon 2006
? East Coast Countdown (Syndicated Radio)
? Route 104 (Q104 Halifax)
? Shaye - This is It!
? That East Coast Show (CKBW Bridgewater)

Event of the Year presented by Landsbridge University / ÉvÉnement de l'annÉe:
? Celtic Colours International Festival
? FrancoFÊte en Acadie
? Harvest Jazz and Blues Festival
? Indian River Festival
? Lunenburg Folk Harbour Festival
? TD Canada Trust Atlantic Jazz Festival

Graphic Designer of the Year / Artiste graphique de l'annÉe:
? Cheryl Smith (OutFront Productions Inc.)
? Jason Otis (evul design)
? Jessica Rhaye (Creative Graphic Design)
? Michael Shepherd (Blazed Media Designs)
? Steve Dupuis (Big Bang Marketing)

Independent Company of the Year / Compagnie indÉpendante de l'annÉe
? Malkin Music
? Music Marketing International Inc. (MMII)
? Periwinkle Productions & Management
? SMP (SKID Mark Productions)
? Sonic Entertainment Group

Industry Professional of the Year presented by CARAS / Professionnel(le) de l'industrie de l'annÉe:
? Bruce Morel
? Darren Gallop
? Eirinn Fraser
? Greg Hemmings
? John Poirier
? Lyle Drake

Manager of the Year / GÉrant(e) de l'annÉe:
? Bruce Morel
? Darren Gallop
? Jamie Steel
? Jason Burns
? Lynn Daigle
? Lynn Horne

Media Person of the Year / PersonnalitÉ mÉdiatique de l'annÉe:
? Doug Gallant
? Jimmie Inch
? Jonathan Crouse
? Liz Rigney
? Marc Xavier LeBlanc

Photographer of the Year /
Photographe de l'annÉe:
? Chr!s Sm!th (funkfactor)
? Jocelyne Vautour (Jocelyne Vautour Photography)
? Kelly Clark (kelly clark fotography)
? Kyle Cunjak (Kyle Cunjak Photography)
? Marc Xavier LeBlanc (StudioGraph)

Radio Station of the Year - Small Market presented by FACTOR / Station radiophonique de l'annÉe - petit marchÉ prÉsentÉ par FACTOR :
? 94.7 Seaside FM (Eastern Passage, NS)
? 101.5 The Hawk CIGO-FM (Port Hawkesbury, NS)
? CKBW FM (Bridgewater, NS)
? The Coast 89.7 CKOA-FM (Glace Bay, NS)
? CFXY 105.3 The Fox (Fredericton, NB)

Radio Station of the Year - Major Market presented by FACTOR
Station radiophonique de l'annÉe - grand marchÉ prÉsentÉ par FACTOR:
? Moncton's Classic Rock, C103 (Moncton, NB)
? Q104 (Halifax, NS)
? Today's Best Country XL96 (Moncton, NB)

Record Company / Distributor / Indie Label of the Year
Maison de disque / distributeur / label indÉpendant de l'annÉe:
? Avondale Music Ltd.
? Distribution Plages
? Landwash Music Distribution
? Sonic Records
? Warner Music Canada

Retailer of the Year presented by Coveys Basics
DÉtaillant de l'annÉe:
? Back Alley Music (Charlottetown, PE)
? CD Plus
? Prince Edward Island Emporium

Studio of the Year presented by Musicstop
Studio de l'annÉe:
? Denmark Productions Recording Studio
? Soundpark Studios
? St. Cecilia Studios
? The Sonic Temple
? Lakewind Sound Studios

Technician / Engineer of the Year
Technicien(ne) / ingÉnieur de l'annÉe:
? Carl Gosine
? Darren Gallop
? Hayward Parrott
? Michael "Sheppy" Shepherd
? Laurence Currie

Venue of the Year
Salle / scÈne de l'annÉe:
? Dolan's Pub
? Savoy Theatre
? ThÉÂtre Capitol Theatre
? The Fredericton Playhouse
? The Marquee Club

Organizations: East Coast Music Association, Aitken Centre, New Brunswick, Newfoundland & Labrador Landsbridge University TD Canada Trust OutFront Productions Graphic Design MMII Entertainment Group Station of the Year Record Company Avondale Music CD Plus Savoy Theatre ThÉÂtre Capitol Theatre Marquee Club

Geographic location: Fredericton, Prince Edward Island, Cape Breton Island Nova Scotia Moncton Indian River Eastern Passage Port Hawkesbury Glace Bay Canada Charlottetown Denmark

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page



Recent comments

  • Ryan
    June 21, 2010 - 20:10

    It would be nice if this article actually mentionned which nominees are from PEI.

    The only ones you can tell are Back Alley Music since it says Charlottetown in the brackets, and I think it's safe to say the Prince Edward Island Emporium is on PEI.

    Who's the other 3?

  • Jo Ann
    June 21, 2010 - 20:05

    Ryan...why it's Doug Gallant of The Guardian of course. The Island's music man. The Susan Lucci of the ECMA's. Let hope he if finally recognized for all his hard work.

  • Carrie
    June 21, 2010 - 19:52

    Good to see Sherwood's Liz Rigney on the list! Even though she's based in HELLifax, she's got red mud on her shoes.

  • bob
    June 21, 2010 - 19:45

    why arent baba's and hunter's nominated for venue of the year?